The good o’ National Service days


We all have different experiences with our National Service (Military conscription) episodes.

I was reading my textbook from the Customer Relationship Management module and in particular on customer experience. I don’t know what triggers me to suddenly have mental images about my National Service in the Navy [1].

I remembered and enjoyed the freedom I have during service. More so when I was promoted to be an Instructor. I remember I have my own room, I bring my trainees for practical training and sometimes teach in the classroom. It just gave me a feeling of “breathing”. I like these kind of jobs, not bound to the desk but always moving around, observing and interacting. But at times, I would wish to stay in my own comfortable room away from the world. I don’t know, perhaps I had been enjoying this freedom while on student exchange and it reminded me of that piece of pleasurable feeling kept inside my long-term memory.

Not that I like to be alone, but I would rather keep my comfort zone small enough for a few important people. But on the other hand, because of my explorative and curious mind, I like to go outside of my comfort zone to experience new perceptions the outside world can provide.

I guess I would interpret this psyche as: I create clear and rational boundaries to segregate what’s IN and what’s OUT, what’s close and what’s distant, what’s worth to die for protecting and what’s not my battle. After creating this boundaries, with all my comfort zone emplaced, it’s time for me to explore the outside world knowing that I have a strong support back at my power base.

I am trying to decipher myself. That’s all.
To know yourself, is also to know others. -The theory of mind [2].

Maybe I could have a sentence to nail my psyche: “I am less a follower and more of an investigator” – I don’t want to say I am a skeptic, I just need more time and evidence to be convinced. Someone said, “To learn from one’s own mistakes is insight but to learn from other people’s mistakes is wisdom.” I guess I am not that wise in this aspect. Perhaps, I am an experiential person. That’s all. Every experience count in our lives and every experience shapes our brain structure and our future interactions with the world. So, I don’t really agree with people who gets overly dejected when they fail in life, every experience no matter tough, embarrassing or horrible, it’s something SPECIFIC to you. It’s yours.

I came out with a COPYRIGHT phrase some time ago and this is related to what I said about ,”What you experience is yours entirely.”

You can steal my ideas, but you cannot steal my creativity. => This means, “You can steal my ideas, take it if you have no sense of integrity, but so long I am experiencing the world and alive, I will have dozens more ideas to trump that idea you stolen away from me.” Because once an idea is publicized, they are never yours to keep. But creativity(which forms from our experiences and perceptions) are OURS to keep, FOREVER.
So another lesson, don’t reveal your ideas until you are ready or you know it’s alright to share.

[1]
You know our brains remember things in a semantic network and often very linked to emotions (Amygdala). Something puzzled me is that the Amygdala is involved in the processing of emotions such as fear, anger and pleasure and is also responsible for determining what memories are stored and where the memories are stored in the brain. Guess where is it located? Inside your Temporal lobe and its main functions are processing auditory perceptions. It is also important for the processing of semantics in both speech and vision. The temporal lobe contains the hippocampus and plays a key role in the formation of long-term memory.

So in short -> Some words that I saw from the book triggered some feelings (Amygdala) and in turn trigger my Long-term memory.

[2]
Theory of mind is the ability to attribute mental states—beliefs, intents, desires, pretending, knowledge, etc.—to oneself and others and to understand that others have beliefs, desires and intentions that are different from one’s own.

Leave a Reply

