Institutions


I enjoyed my arts module of Sociology Economics a lot and what I learned in that module reminded me of institutionalization.

Where it has such a clear boundary that we take on the role required by that institution in order to operate functionally.

Example, NUS is a institution; we need to take on the role of a student, staff, etc. NUS do not take in our emotions, motivations, etc. Yet, we cannot deny the fact that all these; though outside of NUS does affect how we play our role as students. I guess, I got what Dr Petrovic is teaching in SC2209: Money, Business and Social Networks (Sociology Economics module I was taking about).

Because institutions makes clear boundaries from other institutions or participants, it often do not factor in things outside of its boundaries. If anything, or if everything at all affects a person participating as a student in a University or in a school, that will ONLY be his grades and his CCA. I emphasized the word, “ONLY”.

I believe that is a blind spot of many organizations. I somehow got inspired and provoked to “revolutionalize” the way employers employ and how people look at grades. My CS2250 lecturer, Dr Irene Woon told me that students she knew were really good in her module are those she knew during lectures, classes, tutorials and daily assessments. Those who can score well in an exam may not be as good as them.

Moreover, when you are good at something; you are of value to an employer yes? But, does exam grades really tells an employer you are “good at something”?

Oh well, I enjoyed SC2209 a alot; I see the class blog everyday and tries to participate even though I was busy. I prepared for every tutorial and I really really feel encouraged when my answers were the ones expected by the lecturer. That is what I call passion. I got an A+ for that module, I feel so great about it. Haha, a computing student scoring that grade for an Arts module. hehe.

The next most enjoyable module is CS2205: Fundamentals of Information Systems. At times, it seems dry but I guess the lecturers made it enjoyable; especially Dr Irene Woon. I only managed a B+ for that module. Ah, complacency; I didn’t study much for closed-book mid-terms and I scored well for it. For exam, I thought I got alot of answers right; man! I guess I didn’t do that well for exams. Nonetheless, I still like that module.

I also enjoyed EC1301 Economics! Especially Macroeconomics. Especially in macroeconomics tutorials, I answered most of the questions and feel great when my answers were either close or correct. The cohort was 1000 over students! Man, I wish I am a genius, I only scored B-. Arrg!

I also enjoyed BSP1004 Legal Environment of Business. I tell you, sometimes I still speak of these laws I learned and try to apply them in real life. haha.

But what am I trying to say here? Wherever I go now, I spoke of concepts learned from SC2209, EC1301, BSP1004 because these to me are “real-life” modules. So, getting a B- in Economics, does that mean I can’t do Economics in real life? Well, I may not be an Economist, but sure it helps me in business talks; in current affairs and in reviewing contracts, etc.

I learned much, I will contribute much. Only if you give me a chance to prove it, and please; don’t just review someone from paper(grades). It is the dumbest thing ever.

Leave a Reply

